Freedom Through Literacy Award

Freedom Through Literacy Award.

The Freedom Through Literacy Award

The Freedom Through Literacy Award was established by Judith’s Reading Room in 2015 to identify and honor individual champions of literacy from all disciplines around the world — teachers, librarians, authors, researchers, educators — anyone who has done exemplary work to instill in others a love of reading.

It takes many voices to champion literacy and create a love of reading and learning. Judith’s Reading Rooms Award Winners are individuals taking charge in the fight against illiteracy, whether it is an English teacher abroad implementing innovative reading programs to encourage more students to pick up a book, or an author who has incorporated new techniques into his children’s books to make a child want to read just one more story before bed.

Top Prize Winner will receive $3,000 cash
One (1) runner-up will receive $1,000 cash
One Honorable Mention will receive $500 worth of new books to support their program

2017 Freedom Through Literacy Applications are in the Judges’  hands!


** If you are selected as a Judith’s Reading Room Freedom Through Literacy Award winner, we require that you agree to provide a Press Packet, and allow Judith’s Reading Room to use the materials in the packet on their website, website, social media sites, etc.

The press packet would include:

  • A 2-3 minute video – Introduce yourself and/or your organization, and the demographic that is affected
  • A set of photographs that showcases your project, including an image of yourself “in action” with your project (e.g. reading a book to children)
  • A quote describing the importance to you of winning a Judith’s Reading Room Freedom Through Literacy Award

Winners will be announced on the organization’s website and through social media no later than the end of July, 2017.

2016 Freedom Through Literacy Awards

2015 Freedom Through Literacy Awards