Freedom Through Literacy Awards - 2024 WINNERS ANNOUNCEMENT

The Freedom Through Literacy Award was established by Judith’s Reading Room in 2015 to identify and honor individual champions of literacy from all disciplines around the world — teachers, librarians, authors, researchers, educators — anyone who has done exemplary work to instill in others a love of reading. FREEDOM THROUGH LITERACY AWARD PAGE...

2023 Freedom Through Literacy Awards Winners

Judith’s Reading Room, a global nonprofit literacy organization founded in 2010 in the memory of Judith F. Krug, a distinguished librarian, is pleased to announce the winners of its 9th annual “Freedom Through Literacy Award.” The judges declared eight (8) champions of literacy with a combined financial award of $5,000. Learn More»


Judith's Reading Room has libraries in 23 countries around the world, with more on the way! Read more »

Bi-Coastal Literacy Project

Judith's Reading Room has provided books to establish book clubs for at-risk youth. Read more »

Judith's Reading Room is a 501(c)3 organization founded in 2010 to enrich lives and societies by proactively encouraging freedom through literacy.

Learn More>>

Learn More>>

February 28, 2024 — Judith’s Reading Room announced the dedication of its 106th library at a public school in central Puerto Vallarta serving 189 students. Last Thursday, their world changed with the library’s inauguration at Escuela ‘Austin Flores Contreras’ containing 538 bi-lingual, Spanish and English books, with a value of $3,632.
Learn More>>

Learn More>>

FREEDOM THROUGH LITERACY AWARD. The Freedom Through Literacy Award recognizes the achievements of teachers, authors, librarians, educators, literacy nonprofits — anyone who has done exemplary work to instill in others a love of reading. Applicants are judged on five criteria including how their philosophy about literacy guides their work.
Latest News >>

Latest News >>

2024 Freedom Through Literacy Award Winners Announced March 1, 2024 — Judith’s Reading Room announced the winners of its 10th annual “Freedom Through Literacy Awards” with a purse of $5,100. The Award honors individuals who have done exemplary work to instill in others a love of reading. Applicants from Pennsylvania and New York in the USA and from Africa, India, Mexico and the Middle East included poets, teachers, librarians, authors, a literacy “hobbyist,” community volunteers and literacy non-profits.
To Date: 106 libraries, 23 countries, over 133,000 donated books valued at $1,4 million!
The Freedom Through Literacy Award celebrates a decade of honoring incredible champions of literacy. To date, the award has disbursed $58,600 to winners hailing from 18 countries: Australia, Bhutan, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Greece, Honduras, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Mexico, Pakistan, the Philippines, Romania, Rwanda, South Africa, the U.S.A. and Zimbabwe. Winners from the U.S.A. come from 11 states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Virginia.