Start Someone’s New Year Off Right!


CONTACT: Cathy Leiber

Start Someone’s New Year Off Right ….. Nominate Them for the 
2024 Freedom Through Literacy Award
Deadline fast Approaching

December 18, 2023 —This season, give a gift of “Recognition” by nominating your favorite literacy champion —teacher, author, librarian, educator —for the prestigious 2024 Judith’s Reading Room ‘Freedom Through Literacy Award.’  Marking its 10th year, the Award recognizes champions of literacy from around the world for the impact they make on instilling in others the love of reading.  Apply at before the deadline of February 5, 2024.

To date, winners from 17 countries have collected more than $53,000 in prize awards.   Judith’s Reading Room was founded in 2010 in the memory of the founder’s first cousin, Judith F. Krug, who served as Director of Intellectual Freedom for the American Library Association for 40 years.  The organization’s mission is to enrich lives and societies by proactively encouraging freedom through literacy.



2024 Freedom Through Literacy Award Flyer


Bookmark the permalink.
  • Donate Now

    We ask that you please make a donation to Judith’s Reading Room, in support of our ongoing recognition of what is being accomplished in the great world of literacy, as well as funding our shipment of children’s books, both domestically and internationally.